Super bowl cupcakes

It was just about this time last year that I really started baking.   I had gotten my dad a cookbook for christmas (which I have ended up using more than him), and decided that some of these desserts needed to be made.  It was just about time for the Superbowl, just like it is now, and my team, the Steelers were in it so I made black and gold cupcakes. 

Well I was looking through my pictures and found these and thought it was perfect timing to share.

 Now please remember that this was LAST year and I was very new to baking and decorating so I know that they are the prettiest, but I still though they were pretty cool.  To go with the black and gold theme, I used just a basic chocolate cake recipe from Taste of Home and used the butter icing from BHG ( and dyed it yellow).  To make the little foot balls on top, i took rice krispy treats and shaped them into a football shape.  Then I melted some milk chocolate chips and then dipped the rice krispy treats in them.  I then put these “footballs” in the refrigerator and let them chill for a few hours.  The only problem with these was once I took them out of the refrigerator , the side facing up looked beautiful, but the other side that had been facing the plate I had put them on had what looked like a big clump of chocolate on it.  I hope this helps people with their ideas for Superbowl parties and desserts.  Also does anyone have any tips as to how to not end up with the big clumps?

About sugarcravingbaker

I'm new to baking just last year. I got interested by watching cake boss and cupcake wars. But what really got me interested was looking at different baking blogs, so i wanted to make this blog to get more people interested as well.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

