Lemon Poppyseed Muffins- A Baking Challenge: Alpha Bakes

Since I am new to blogging, I’ve been looking for ways to get my name out there.  So when I found this great baking challenge on The more than occasional baker’s site, I knew I had to do it.  This month’s host is The More Than Occasional Baker  Go to the site for more details, but bascially every month there is a different different letter that the dessert has to start with.  This month the letter is L.  Right when I saw this I remembered that I had been wanting to make these lemon poppyseed cupcakes that I had seen in a Better Homes and Garden magazine. 

Lemon poppyseed always reminds me of when I was little.  Every year my family and I would go to Florida to visit my grandpartents.  And every year we would go to the same bakery that would have the BEST lemon poppyseed muffins. 

Not only that but I hoped that the lemon flavor would help me out of this winter funk.  And what do you know, right after I made them, we had a few warm days.  It was like 55 degrees in February.  Maybe I have special powers, and my baking brought summer for a few days.

 Lemon Poppyseed Cupcakes

adapted from Better Homes and Gardens

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 3/4cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons poppy seeds
  • 1 1/2teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2teaspoons lemon extract
  • 1/2teaspoon vanilla
  • 2/3cup milk
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • For Lemon Glaze:
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 5 teaspoons lemon juice
  1. Allow butter and eggs to stand at room temperature for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, line eighteen 2-1/2-inch muffin cups with paper bake cups
  2. In a medium bowl combine flour, poppy seeds, baking powder, and salt. Set aside. 
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  4. In large mixing bowl beat butter on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add sugar, lemon extract, and vanilla. Beat about 2 minutes or until light and fluffy.
  5. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Alternately add flour mixture and milk to butter mixture, beating on low speed after each addition just until combined. Stir in the lemon juice.
  6. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each about three-fourths full.
  7. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean.
  8. In a small bowl combine powdered sugar and enough lemon juice to reach a spreading consistency.
  9. Spread Lemon Glaze on cupcakes

About sugarcravingbaker

I'm new to baking just last year. I got interested by watching cake boss and cupcake wars. But what really got me interested was looking at different baking blogs, so i wanted to make this blog to get more people interested as well.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lemon Poppyseed Muffins- A Baking Challenge: Alpha Bakes

  1. bakingaddict says:

    Thank you so much for joining in the AlphaBakes fun this month! I love lemon and poppyseed muffins and these look delicious! It’s especially nice that it reminds you of good childhood memories 🙂

  2. Caroline says:

    These look great! Thanks for entering them in Alphabakes and hope to see you next month – the mystery letter will be on my site http://www.carolinemakes.blogspot.com tomorrow!

  3. Corina says:

    These look lovely and remind me of when I lived abroad in Germany where there were loads of great cakes with poppy seeds in, although no cupcakes at the time. I love the idea now of going back through my memories and making something using them.

Leave a Reply

