A Horrible Artist’s Attempts (and fails) at Fondant

All of those baking shows are very misleading!!!!  They make it seem like it is so easy and that anyone can do it.  Just through the peice of fondant over the cake and it will magically look good.  So because of this my mom and i decided that we should try to take a Wilton Cake Decorating class with fondant.  Let me just tell you it is much more difficult then it looks.  It is very hard to get the fondant to go around the cake perfectly.  Plus fondant just doesn’t taste good!!!  It is just the wrong texture for cake.  And I know that supposively marshmallow fondant is supposed to be much better then store bough fondant, but I have tried to make that and it just turned into an absolute disgusting disaster (even though the recipe said it was super easy.)  So now everytime i try to practice with my fondant skills I have to put a lot of icing on so that I can just peel the fondant off when I go to eat the cake.

Here are some example of my skills after quite a bit of practice (yes I know they are still not very good, but I would like to think that they aren’t too bad).

About sugarcravingbaker

I'm new to baking just last year. I got interested by watching cake boss and cupcake wars. But what really got me interested was looking at different baking blogs, so i wanted to make this blog to get more people interested as well.
This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Horrible Artist’s Attempts (and fails) at Fondant

  1. Well, I think those look great, I don’t know what you’re worried about! I agree about the taste though – I don’t mind it, but in the past have only eaten fondant on wedding cake. It’s a shame that to make a novelty shape you have to cover the whole thing in fondant – I know some people do it with buttercream but that’s even harder! Hope you enjoyed the class anyway, I’d love to do a Wilton course but they don’t do them here in the UK. So instead I’ve just started an evening class at my local college!

  2. Still not very good? These just prove that perseverance is the key and practise makes better!
    Your cakes look store bought now 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

