Chocolate Birthday Cake

I know it’s been a while since I posted something it has just been a couple of really busy weeks.  I got a new job and am trying to make my final decision on college (the decision needs to be made by next week yikes!!), so I haven’t had much time to bake.  But last weekend was my dad’s birthday so of course I made time to attempt to make a pretty cake.  I went to the store all ready to buy some fondant to decorate it with, when I found the greatest thing.  Sugar Sheets!!!  They are like edible paper that you can punch out designs with and then stick it on the cake.  The best part – no gross fondant is needed, you just stick it on the frosting.  I really don’t like the consistency of fondant on a cake so these were the perfect solution.

For the cake my dad decided he wanted a chocolate cake with a caramel frosting.  I used a chocolate cake recipe from Better Home and Gardens and I used the same caramel frosting I used with my caramel banana cake.  It turned out delicious!

About sugarcravingbaker

I'm new to baking just last year. I got interested by watching cake boss and cupcake wars. But what really got me interested was looking at different baking blogs, so i wanted to make this blog to get more people interested as well.
This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Birthday Cake

  1. Happy birthday to your dad 😀
    Special men deserve special cakes and you have covered that point too well – looks super delish! And I love the dot design 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. lovefoodcookfood says:

    I like the idea of the sugar sheets. Far less messy than fondant. I’ll have to do a search for it. Brilliant cake! 🙂

Leave a Reply

